Skip to content
Darlington Counts — Darlington, in numbers.Local help →

Darlington, in numbers

People and living standards

Darlington council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Darlington council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 99,342 in 1991 to 113,402 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Darlington council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 99,588 people in 1996; 113,402 people in 2025. 13.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Darlington council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199199,342
199299,347
199399,224
199499,423
199599,189
199699,588
199799,171
199899,273
199998,172
200098,088
200197,894
200298,474
200398,911
200499,343
2005100,287
2006101,509
2007102,632
2008103,694
2009104,355
2010105,028
2011105,584
2012105,557
2013105,591
2014105,825
2015105,988
2016106,258
2017106,541
2018106,411
2019106,532
2020106,827
2021108,210
2022109,364
2023110,776
2024112,150
2025113,402
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Darlington council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,743 people in 1996; 19,935 people in 2025. 3.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Darlington council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,244
199220,484
199320,630
199420,813
199520,772
199620,743
199720,605
199820,452
199920,172
200020,044
200119,750
200219,827
200319,868
200419,852
200519,960
200620,025
200719,974
200819,974
200920,065
201020,125
201120,208
201220,108
201320,124
201420,039
201519,996
201619,943
201720,008
201819,950
201919,839
202019,753
202119,714
202219,800
202319,871
202419,915
202519,935
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Darlington council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 62,110 people in 1996; 69,091 people in 2025. 11.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Darlington council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199162,319
199262,057
199361,765
199461,888
199561,695
199662,110
199761,911
199862,157
199961,387
200061,361
200161,468
200261,986
200362,249
200462,580
200563,305
200664,406
200765,448
200866,223
200966,576
201066,743
201166,806
201266,277
201365,907
201465,739
201565,641
201665,653
201765,446
201865,116
201965,015
202065,207
202166,225
202266,832
202367,613
202468,350
202569,091
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Darlington council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,735 people in 1996; 24,376 people in 2025. 45.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Darlington council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,779
199216,806
199316,829
199416,722
199516,722
199616,735
199716,655
199816,664
199916,613
200016,683
200116,676
200216,661
200316,794
200416,911
200517,022
200617,078
200717,210
200817,497
200917,714
201018,160
201118,570
201219,172
201319,560
201420,047
201520,351
201620,662
201721,087
201821,345
201921,678
202021,867
202122,271
202222,732
202323,292
202423,885
202524,376
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 107,796 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Darlington · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,9662.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7010.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,4721.4%
White101,72594.4%
Other ethnic group9320.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 105,564 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Darlington · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White101,59596.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,1461.1%
Asian/Asian British2,2052.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3570.3%
Other ethnic group2610.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 97,838 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Darlington · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White95,74197.9%
Mixed5980.6%
Asian/Asian British9060.9%
Black/Black British2230.2%
Chinese/Other3700.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Darlington council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,407 per person in 1997; £21,587 per person in 2024. 129.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Darlington council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,407
19989,319
19999,513
200010,250
200111,160
200211,118
200311,394
200411,795
200512,009
200612,289
200712,868
200812,892
200913,446
201013,510
201113,392
201213,885
201314,379
201414,742
201515,381
201615,915
201716,593
201817,038
201917,679
202018,097
202118,415
202219,068
202320,457
202421,587
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Darlington council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -11.3% in 1997; -16.9% in 2024. 5.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Darlington council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-11.3
1998-13.9
1999-15.9
2000-13.9
2001-9.8
2002-12.1
2003-12.6
2004-13.1
2005-14.6
2006-16.1
2007-16.1
2008-18.1
2009-16
2010-16.4
2011-17.8
2012-17.8
2013-17.9
2014-18.5
2015-19.2
2016-17.4
2017-15.8
2018-16.5
2019-16.1
2020-13.8
2021-15.7
2022-17
2023-16.3
2024-16.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56%

21 March 2021 · Darlington council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.9%

21 March 2021 · Darlington council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.3%

21 March 2021 · Darlington council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.9%

21 March 2021 · Darlington council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£160,000

July 2026 · Darlington council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£689

August 2026 · Darlington council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.